Classic Smoky Eyes

This is how I usually do the so-called classic smoky eyes look. Obviously, the application of this look will vary depending on your eye shape, but I think this application will suit everyone. This will be very helpful as well for those with eyes shaped like mine. It is quite a comprehensive tutorial, so I hope I don’t bore you. I, also, am showing you the way I usually apply makeup on my face and the products that I used to conceal my under eye circles. I realized that ever since I turned 20 plus, I get more under eye circles (esp. after I start working and becoming an “adult”…:P)

So, let’s get started!

How-to:

1. On a bare face, I applied Smashbox Foundation Primer all over my face and let it sit for a few minutes.

2. Then, using Giorgio Armani Master Corrector in 2, I applied it under my eyes. I specifically applied it where I can see the line because I want to get rid of that line.

3. Using my ring finger, I gently tap on the corrector. This orange colour corrector counteracts with the purple under my eyes.

4. Then, I went on by applying Urban Decay primer potion in Sin all over my eyelid, all the way to the brow bone. I applied this with my ring finger.

5. Using a flat eyeshadow brush, I applied MAC Sweet Satisfaction Pro Longwear eyeshadow all over my lid.

6. I traced my upper lashline using L’oreal Voluminous Smoldering Eyeliner in Black.

7. Using a pencil brush, I smudged the liner. At this point, there is no need to be precise. This look is all about being a little messy.

8. I lined my waterline with the same eyeliner. Afterwards, I applied the liner on my lower lashline. You can see the difference in the location of waterline vs. lower lashline on the pictures below.

9. Using a flat eyeshadow brush, I applied MAC Print eyeshadow on the upper lid area, concentrating the colour more on the lashline. I built the intensity of the colour by layering the shadow on the lid.

10. Using Smashbox bullet brush, I clean up the crease area. This way, I’ve built a gradient of colour from black (along the lashline) to grey (middle lid) and very light wash of colour (on the crease and brow bone).

11. I applied MAC Print eyeshadow on the lower lid using an angled brush.

12. Using Smashbox bullet brush that I’ve used previously on step 10, I blended the eyeshadow on the lower lid so that there’s no harsh line.

13. I curled my lashes and applied Benefit Bad Gal mascara (me no likey! so clumpy) on my upper and lower lashes.

14. Once the eye makeup is done, I sprayed some MAC Fix plus on my foundation brush.

15. Then, I applied Chanel Teint Innocence foundation with the damped foundation brush all over my face and neck.

16. I also applied MAC Pearl cream base on top of my cheekbones to highlight that area.

17. For the cheeks, I applied Blush Horizon de Chanel with a blush brush.

18. I completed the look by applying Tarte Lipsurgence in Hope.

