Foundation Routine

My foundation changes every so often, but my foundation application pretty much stays the same. It’s fast, it’s easy and it makes your skin shows through and not caked on. It’s so easy, you’ll start doing what I’m doing!

So! First of all, you’ll have to start with a clean face. Cleanse and moisturize your face as usual. Wash your hands or sanitize it before you start your foundation.

How-t0:

1. On a bare face, apply your favorite face primer to prep your face. I like NARS Oil-Free Pro-Primer (pore refining primer). It smells great and it has a gel consistency. I am not a big fan of the silicon primers for some reason, so I like the NARS one, or the one by Laura Mercier. If you like the silicone based ones, I like Smashbox’s foundation primer.

2. Let the primer sits for about a minute or two.

3. Pick your favorite foundation! I like several foundations, but for today I’m going to go back to my Lancome Teint Miracle. This foundation has a medium coverage.

4. I pumped a little product (about a size of a pea) to my middle finger. Starting from the center of the face, I blended the foundation to my face. On the areas that need more coverage, I applied more foundation. I applied Giorgio Armani Master Corrector no. 2 to cover my under eyes.

5. Once I’ve applied the foundation on the face, I used my finger tips to blend the foundation to my hair line and down to my neck (and ears too if needed).

6. Now that you’ve a blank canvas, you want to add some light back to your face. You want to highlight your face using a highlighter. Usually I’ll use my favorite Makeup Forever Uplight or MAC Pearl Cream Base. However, since I just bought a new product called L’oreal Magic Lumi (light infusing primer), I’m going to use that instead. If you have a dry skin, you can mix the Magic Lumi to your foundation for an overall glow/dewy look. I might try mixing this next time to my foundation.

7. There are 5 points on your face that you want to highlight – on top of your cheekbones, on the bridge of the nose, cupid’s bow, chin and under the brows. These points are the high planes on your face. Highlighting these areas will make it stands out more.

8. Once you’re done with the highlighting, you can contour your face or just skip it. Usually I don’t contour my face unless it’s for special occasions or in the summer. I used Chanel Universal Bronzer on the hollows of the cheeks, temples and under the jaws.

9. Using a foundation brush, I applied Revlon Cream Blush in Rosy Glow to add colour back to my face. I like using cream products since it looks more natural, and blends easily.

10. To set my makeup, I used a powder brush and dabbed on translucent powder all over the face. I spritzed MAC Fix plus to get rid of the excess powder.

11. That’s it! You’re done with your face. For this look, I applied Chanel Eclosion eyeshadows on my eyes, MAC Zoom lash mascara on the lashes and Revlon Raspberry Pie Lip butter on the lips.

