Shu Uemura Indonesia

I was invited by Shu Uemura Indonesia to attend their Beauty Bloggers gathering which happened yesterday at Smoky Joe’s restaurant. I decided to attend the event with my childhood friend, Wiwin since she’s also another beauty aficionado (more of her in the future, I promise! and pictures of her too since she’s sooooo gorgeous!)

Anyways! We arrived there on time and we were amongst the first few to arrive (beaten by Stella, Gaby and Silke who arrived 30mins earlier to beat the rush hour traffic). So, after a few chit chat and delicious ice teas, the Shu Uemura’s reps came and a few other bloggers. The whole event was basically to get to know the bloggers and to introduce the new Shu Uemura collection and new products to us – Color Atelier Glitter and the Ultime8 Sublime Beauty Cleansing Oil. They also talked about the Karl Lagerfeld collab with Shu Uemura for Christmas collection (which I’m super excited for!). Have you guys seen the Mon Shu Girl yet? Don’t know what I’m talking about? Well, let’s keep you waiting then! 😀 (just kidding, check my Facebook page!)

They brought out a few products to be seen and play with. The first product was the Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Lipsticks collection. There were a few of them, but since everyone was playing with them, I decided to take a shot of these 4 (randomly picked). I think I might actually grab their red and nude colors in the future. (click on pictures to enlarge it)

Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Lipstick

Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Lipstick

I’ve seen the Color Atelier Glitter palette in Holt Renfrew (Sherway Garden) a few months a go before I came back, I wasn’t impressed then, and I do have to say I’m still not impressed even now. It’s a cream-shadow (primer)/glitter (pressed) shadows combination which comes in a refill form, so you can create your own palette. The palette is a quad. I wish they’ve made the shadows perhaps less glittery. I mean they have quite pretty colours, but I am not one to go around with glitter on my face. Nevertheless, I might just grab a few shadows from them when I go to their counters.

Shu Uemura Color Atelier eyeshadow

Shu Uemura Color Atelier Glitter Eye

Now, I’ve been a fan of Shu Uemura’s Cleansing Oil ever since I went to Complections, and had to keep putting and taking off makeup. My skin couldn’t handle the dryness from my normal cleanser and my eyes were hurting a lot since some of the products cannot be taken off easily. So, I decided to try on Shu Uemura Fresh Pore Clarifying Gentle Oil, which cost me about cad$70-$80 for the 450mL bottle (can’t remember the exact price). I fell in love with this Cleansing Oil and had never looked back ever since. Now, Shu Uemura will be launching a new cleansing oil which is called the Ultime8 Sublime Beauty Cleansing Oil.

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil

Shu Uemura Ultime8 Sublime Beauty Cleansing Oil

Why is it called the Ulime8? If you guys don’t know, Shu Uemura has 8 different type of cleansing oil to suit different skin types/conditions. Now, this Ultime8 oil is basically all those 8 oils combined into 1 ultimate cleanser! This cleansing oil costs $42 (small)/ $90 (large) for USA, tax not incl. (Canada’s price should be around the same or slightly more expensive), and it costs Rp. 1,200,000 (about USD$120) for the large one. Still a bit more expensive in Jakarta, but hey, for that price I’m willing to pay to ensure my skin can be cleansed properly!

Then, they also brought out a limited edition item, which was the most coveted and famous eyelash curler ever known to mankind – the Shu Uemura Gold eyelash curler which cost Rp. 240,000 (aboout $24). This eyelash curler costs $24 in USA (before tax). So, I’m definitely going to grab this baby since it’s cheaper here! 😀 The non-gold ones are Rp. 220,000 in Jakarta.

Shu Uemura 24k Eyelash Curler

Shu Uemura Gold Eyelash Curler

Oh yes, these are the beautiful people which made today’s event enjoyable and successful – Regina (Brand Manager), Jessica (Product Manager), Hendrix (the only Shu Uemura-accredited makeup artist in Indonesia) and Dina (whose picture is not on my camera, sorry!). All of them were very lovely and I get to chat a lot with Regina. We talked from anything to everything! She’s definitely friendly and very knowledgeable.

L'oreal Indonesia

Regina and I

Shu Uemura Indonesia

Jessica

So after a short introduction, Hendrix, the makeup artist, asked one of the bloggers to become his model. He applied the Color Atelier products on her. First he cleansed her face with the Cleansing Oil, then applied foundation (with the foundation brush which I want to get…soon..hahahaha), interestingly he applied lipstick first and then the eyeshadows and blush. I’ve heard of this sequence of makeup application before – base, lips then the rest of face. The theory behind this is that after applying base, you will look very pale and that might throw you off from the overall face color. I think this sequence works.

Shu Uemura makeup demo

Shu Uemura makeup demo

There’s also a few others that started with base then blush then the rest of the face for the same reason. Others do the base, then brows then the rest of the face. For me, it really depends, sometimes I do the eyes first if it is a lot of shadow works and I know there’ll be a lot of fall-out. Most of the time it’s the base first since having a flawless base is crucial, then I add lip balm on the lips first to moisturize it (and add color back to the face) and then the eyes, blush/bronzer and lastly lipstick (after removing the lip balm). I think there’s no rules in makeup, just have fun with it! Whatever works for you 🙂

Shu Uemura makeup demo

Shu Uemura makeup demo by Hendrix

Shu Uemura Indonesia

Hendrix (makeup artist) did makeup on a blogger

During the makeup demo, I asked too many questions, I think..hahahah..but hey, who can blame me when I found that they can speak English too! Shy no more, I don’t have to be stuttering when asking questions in Indonesian since I can ask them in English! hahahaha…I asked them a few things like:

1. How many shades of foundation do Shu Uemura Indonesia carry? 6 shades

2. Are they mostly pink-undertone? Yes (booo!!!), only 1 shade is yellow-based which is no. 9

3. Are the products launched in Indonesia lagging behind their counterparts in N. America? No, we try to launch it at the same time, esp. for our December Karl Lagerfeld collection to be launched at the same time Worldwide. We are one month behind from Japan though.

4. Are the products more expensive in Indonesia vs. the rest of the world? It might be slightly cheaper than N. America, definitely cheaper than Singapore and Japan, but Hong Kong definitely has a lower price (just like everything else…)

5. What’s the foundation brush made from? Badger hair

6. Are the products tested on animals? No, we test on human volunteers (I wouldn’t mind being a tester…:P)

7. How do one become an accredited makeup artist from Shu Uemura in Indonesia? S/he has to work for Shu Uemura’s makeup counter, then s/he get picked by his/her supervisor, do some practical test (recorded) to be sent to Shu Uemura Japan. There’s a few levels to be passed, so Hendriks has done the first level, and he will be sent to Japan eventually.

8. Are we going to get free products from Shu Uemura :P? We are working on getting skincare samples to be sent and reviewed for bloggers in the future.

9. Is there a makeup artist/pro discount from Shu Uemura Indonesia? Currently we are not offering any pro discount.

10. Do you guys still carry the Nobara Stick foundation? On certain counters only.

Hahahaha, I’m sooo sorry Regina and Hendriks for asking soo many questions :). So, a big thank you for answering all my questions with a smile on the face and a lot of patience.

Then the food came, I ordered a Spaghetti Puttanesca, which was sooooo delicious. I mean, hellooo anchovies! I miss you so very much. At the end of dinner, I found out that it was all paid for by Shu Uemura. Another big thank you! Delicious, fun and enjoyable! What a way to end the day. Not to mention, Wiwin and I also received a goodie bag (Each!) from them! How so very kind of them. I’ve been to several beauty events and this one is by far my favorite! I get to sit down with the Brand Manager, free food, free products, LOTS of knowledge, fun and talking about makeup? Oh yes, I think this is one happy girl 😀

Pasta Puttanesca

What’s in the goodie bag you ask? It’s the Cleansing Oil! And their new Rouge Unlimited Lipstick (I received a beige one, but another blogger wanted mine so we exchanged and I now have the WN 255 – medium pinky wine, which I ended up loving :D).

All in all, it was such a pleasant experience getting to know the products and the reps from Shu Uemura Indonesia. Just between you and me, they are planning to open a Shu Uemura’s boutique (a stand alone counter, not in departmental store) soon! I think it’ll be super exciting! Currently there are 7 Shu Uemura’s counters in Indonesia!

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil Brochure

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil Brochure

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil Brochure

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil Brochure

Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Lipsticks

Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Lipsticks

Shu Uemura Unlimited Lipstick

Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Lipstick and Cleansing Oil

Shu Uemura WN 255

Shu Uemura WN 255 Medium Pinky Wine

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shu Uemura is available at:
·         Glow Plaza Indonesia
·         Sogo Plaza Senayan
·         Debenhams Senayan City
·         Sogo Mall Kelapa Gading
·         Seibu Grand Indonesia
·         Sogo TP4 Surabaya
·         Sogo Sunplaza Medan

