Ombre Nails – trial no. 1

Last night I decided to do some “ombre” nails on myself using 2 different shades of nail polishes. As we all know, ombre anything is very popular lately. I’ve seen a lot of ombre NOTD on Pinterest (which, btw, is amazing and you should check my Pinterest!). I wanted to do something different than just a normal same color ombre nails (gradiation – from light to dark using same color family), so I decided to use 2 different colors on mine!

However, since I did mine out of curiousity (as well as trial and error), I didn’t get the chance to document my own ombre nails. So, I decided to use my sister’s nails to do a step-by-step tutorial. She chose a dark blue and light purple nail polishes for her nails. I do have to say that I should’ve dipped my sponge in water for her nails. I think my nails turned out better than hers since I dipped my sponge in water first.

How-t0:

1. Pick your nail polishes and decide which color will be the base. I picked Essie Nice is Nice (base) and Essie Navigate Her as my colors, my sister picked Essie Coat Azure (base) and Essie Nice is Nice.

Ombre Nails

Essie Nice is Nice and Essie Coat Azure

2. Apply 2 light (emphasis on the LIGHT) coats of your base color on your nails. When I did this to myself, I did one hand first so I can pick the sponge up with the other hand.

3. Use a sponge (I cut mine into smaller pieces for easier use), dipped it in water and squeezed excess out.

4. Apply the 2 nail polishes on the sponge. Apply the base color on top and the other color on the bottom (see picture).

Ombre Nails

Sponge for Ombre Nails

5. Pounce the sponge on top the tip of your nails. Do this may be 2-3 times depending on how dark/light you want the 2nd color to be.

6. Apply a top coat to blend the color together, and voila! Enjoy your 2-tone ombre nails.

Ombre Nails

Ombre Nails

Ombre Nails

Ombre Nails

 

TIP:

A. When applying base color, apply it lightly since if it is too thick, when you pounced the sponge to your finger, you might lift the base polish.

B. It helps if you have some sort of paper with you to blot excess polish from the sponge if you accidentally put too much

